Owen students honored by Youth Salute

-A A +A

Students’ profiles featured at Fayette Mall

Over 760 high-school juniors from 47 high schools in Central Kentucky are being recognized in this year’s Youth Salute.
The 34th Annual Awards Ceremony was held in their honor on May 4 at Eastern Kentucky University.  A top youth leader was named for each high school as well as “Youth Leaders of the Year.”
Six all-expense paid trips to the National Leadership Workshop in Saint Louis, Missouri  were announced along with $90,000 in scholarships and other awards. Asbury University, Eastern Kentucky University, Georgetown College and Midway College each provided $20,000 in scholarships. Private businesses provided an additional $10,000 in scholarships and other awards.  A leadership seminar was held for all the students the same day as the awards ceremony.
The Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership was formed in 1980 to conduct the Youth Salute in nearby counties in cooperation with the National Council on Youth Leadership, a non-profit organization.
Students were nominated by teachers, guidance counselors and principals for this year’s Youth Salute.
In order to qualify, the student had to be a junior (senior class of 2014), have a 3.0 grade point average or better and have held at least two leadership roles to which they were chosen by their peers or an adult leader within the past two years in school, religious or community sponsored organizations.
Holifield Photography of Lexington photographed each student nominated and created a display, including a biographical sketch, which is hosted in your community and the students’ high school. Individual displays of Central Kentucky high schools are shown at Fayette Mall in Lexington.
The Youth Salute winners from Owen County include:  
• Aaron Joseph Kline received a $4,000 scholarship  provided by Asbury University;
• Dalton Mears received a $4,000 scholarship provided by Eastern Kentucky University;
Veronica Chisholm received a $4,000 scholarship provided by Georgetown College. Chisholm was also named a Youth Salute High School Leader and received a star provided by Batmark Engraving & Gifts.