Today's News

  • Third-place finish for Trenary

    His teammates and coaches knew Hunter Trenary could run. On Saturday in Lexington, the rest of Class A Region 5 also found out.
    Trenary finished third at the regional meet with a time of 16:45.5. He finished 10 seconds out of second place and 27 seconds ahead of fourth place.
    Cory Hudnall also ran well and finished in 16th place. Along with the help of Logan Bitler, Evan Lozier and Alex Dietz, the Rebels finished in sixth places as a team.
    The meet was held at Lexington Christian Academy.

  • Rebel Ramblings Nov. 9, 2011

    Rebel Ramblings
    Playoff Edition
    (Round Two)

    • Covington Holy Cross will come to Owenton with a record of 8-3. The Indians had an easy win over Carroll County last week in the first round, 68-0.
    • The Indians’ three losses this season came against Cooper, Beechwood and Newport Central Catholic.
    • Indians Head Coach Bruce Kozerski spent 12 seasons as a member of the Cincinnati Bengals. Kozerski was the starting center for the Bengals in Super Bowl XXIII in Miami against the San Francisco 49ers.

  • Turn it up to 11

    To say it has been a long time would be an understatement. The last time Owen County won a playoff game was during the Carter Administration.
    That changed Friday night at Patterson Field when the Rebels dispatched the Newport Wildcats, 38-13.
    Owen County continued its magical season with another dominating performance over an opponent. The Rebels used a stingy defense and a bruising rushing attack to send Newport into the offseason. The offense rushed for 226 yards, while allowing the Wildcats just 55 yards on the ground.

  • Poe picked to take over Owen Farm Bureau

    Harold Poe, LUTCF, has been appointed the new agency manager with Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance at the Owen County Agency.
    Poe’s appointment was announced in Louisville by John Sparrow, vice president of agency support and marketing for Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance.
     Poe, a Magoffin County native, is a master agent for Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance and was honored as the 2010 District Five Agent of the Year. He became an agent in January 2001 after graduating from Magoffin County High School and Prestonsburg Community College.

  • Monterey Matters: Start a new American tradition

    I hope everyone is enjoying this wonderful weather we’ve been having. I wish it could be like this all winter.
     I could really do without the snow. Hopefully, we’ll have a nice calm winter this time around. One can only hope, right?

  • Wedding announcement: Keith-Cook

    Rusty and Christy Keith of Owenton and Jerry and Regina Cook of Wheatley are proud to announce the engagement and forthcoming wedding of their children, Amanda Keith and Clayton Cook. The couple is planning a January wedding.

  • Birth announcement: Aprille Jean Perry

    Leonia Smith and Tracy Perry are happy to announce the birth of their daughter, Aprille Jean Perry, born Aug. 22, 2011.  She weighed 6 pounds, 10 ounces and was 19.5-inches long.
    Grandparents are Eartha and Gary Moore and David and Charlotte Smith.

  • Strohmeier awarded scholarship to business, entrepreneurship forum

    Kim David Strohmeier of the University of Kentucky Cooperative Extension Service was awarded a full scholarship to attend the 29th Annual Entrepreneurship Education forum that was held Nov. 4-7 in Cincinnati, Ohio.
    This scholarship was awarded for Strohmeier’s leadership and creativity in bringing entrepreneurship education to the schools.
    The Consortium for Entrepreneurship Education is a national membership association of 95 organizations.

  • Middle school honor roll

    Super Honor Roll
    Esmeralda Aldama, Robert Caldwell, Grace Chilton, Laura Duke, Grace Engelman, Hailee Gordon, Jason Gray, Katie Hensley, Audrey Lewis, Noah Malcomb, Lisa Messer, Kaitlyn Parker, Jared Prather, Lexie Robinson, Colton Stedham, Madison Young

    Regular Honor Roll

  • Owen County High School Honor Roll

    Super Honor Roll
    Kathryn Bihl, Amanda Brown, Mikala Byers, Carla Carfora, Suzanna Cooke, Kennedi Dermon, Shelby Gambrell, Autumn Gover, Emily Johnson, Briann Landrum, Miranda Mason, Ciara Rogers, Brittany Thornton

    Regular Honor Roll