Track team celebrates wonderful run

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Owen County Track Team recently held its banquet and awards program to honor athletes, reflect on the recent season and to look ahead.


Dillon Mears said the devotional prayer before a potluck dinner.

Mears and fellow senior Justin Davis spoke to their soon-to-be former teammates, leaving them with inspiring messages and reminding them to keep grades up, work hard, keep working together as a team, and to continue to keep God first.

Owen County Head Track Coach Jerry Doolin spoke of the great accomplishments made this year. He said they are a young team and that he is looking forward to many great things in the future.

Doolin said four of the relay teams and the high jumper all missed going to the state meet by one team.

Doolin congratulated Mears and Bobby Minge for their performance at the state meet.

The coach also said there will be many exciting things in store for next track season with the new track being built and Owen County hosting the regional track meet.

Doolin hopes the team will grow next season with their talent and the number of team members. After awards were presented, Justin Davis closed the banqet with a prayer.

 The 2010 track award winners are:

High school

Most Points: Daniel Cummins and Haley DeCandia

110 Percent Award: Justin Davis and Ashley Tyler

Most Improved: Dillon Mears and Kelsey Johnson

Scholastic Award: Elizabeth Anderson – 4.0

Coach’s Award: Daniel Powell and Michaela Gibson

Rookies of the Year: Bobby Mingie, Darian Polley, Kaylynn Workman and Christina Johnson

Academic All-State Award: Dillon Mears, Elizabeth Anderson, Justin Davis, Tyler True, Christina Johnson, Kelsey Johnson, Will Dempsey, and Haley DeCandia


Middle school

Most Points: Dalton Mears and Nicole Jacobs

Most Improved: Corby Smith and Mary Grady

Scholastic Award: Corby Smith and Nicole Jacobs