Runners take off with track awards

-A A +A
By Brian Blair

The Owen County High School track teams handed out their awards for the 2012 season. Bobby Mingie and Collin Trammel received the honor for scoring the most points for the boys.
Haley DeCandia captured the award for the girls.
Cooper Taylor, Hunter Trenary, Paula Rivera and Emily Allen were named rookies of the year.
Paul Banks, Daniel Cummins and Darian Polley were given the 110 Percent Award.
The coaches award was presented to Chris Smith, Willie Johnson, Jessica Willhoite and Veronica Chisholm.
Academic awards were handed out to Ben Allen, Andi Burford, Ashley Byers and Hannah Strohmeier.
Several students also were recognized for their work in the classroom by being given the All-State Academic Award for maintaining a GPA of 3.75 to 4.00. Those students include Ben Allen, Andi Burford, Ashley Byers, Hannah Strohmeier, Mikala Byers, Suzanna Cooke, Haley DeCandia, Autumn Gover, Willie Johnson, Jessica Willhoite, Nicole Jacobs, Samantha Tamplin, Andri Hager, Ty Smith and Cory Hudnall.
A few more students were all-state honorable mention for keeping a GPA of 3.25 to 3.74. These students include Emily Allen, Robert Beverly, Veronica Chisholm, Cooper Taylor, Evan Lozier, Dalton Mears, Kailen Sizemore, Hunter Trenary and Michael Wash.