Retired teachers honored for service to community

-A A +A

At the Kentucky Retired Teacher’s Association state convention in Louisville on April 22, Owen County’s Retired Teacher’s group was awarded three awards:
• The “Yes, We Did” award for having 100 percent membership;
• The M.L. Archer Membership Award
• The Gold Award for outstanding achievement in reaching the goals and objectives of KRTA.
Barbara Ramsey is the membership chairperson for the local group.
OCRTA members had a total of 9,500 volunteer hours  to church, civic, health, and youth organizations last year.
Several members donated almost 1,000 volunteer hours.
Elizabeth Prewitt donated over 2,000 hours to many organizations.
Denise Perkins was the local and fifth district (eight counties) volunteer of the year for her service to the youth of Owen County through the Cloverbuds and Recipe for Life programs. 
Alli Gill was the Owen County winner for the grandparent essay contest.
The OCRTA donated to the Owen County Children’s Fund, the O.C. Family Resource Center to help with school supplies, to the Kimbler Scholarship Fund, and helped with food drives.
Throughout the year, members send cards and greetings to members who are ill or are unable to attend meetings.
At Christmas, members go to the Owenton Manor to lead the residents in some carols and take time to greet them.
Faye Shelton, president of OCRTA, congratulates the members for their accomplishments and appreciates their continuing service to the citizens of Owen County as well as their support of their local retired teachers’  association’s goals.
The next meeting of OCRTA is  June 11, at 2 p.m. at the Smith House.  A celebration for the awards received and installation of officers will be on the agenda for the meeting.