Owen basketball players named to all-academic team

-A A +A
By Brian Blair

The Owen County basketball teams had success on the court this past season. Both won the district championships in the same season for the first time in school history. While players were performing well on the court, many were also doing well in the classroom.

Five member of the boys’ team and eight Lady Rebels were named to the All-Academic First Team. In order to be selected, members must have a GPA of 3.75 or higher.

Collin Gamble, Blake Traylor, Jordan Shelton, Lucas Shelton and Sawyer Williams were named to the first team for the boys. The ladies were represented by Emilie Davis, Lauren Lowe, Jensen Wainscott, Christina Johnson, Samantha Toole, Rianna Gayheart, Megan Harris and Meredith Marston.

Honorable mention is given to students who maintain a GPA of 3.25 to 3.74. Eko Kemper, Mariah Fitzgerald and Morgan Green were recognized from the girls’ squad.

The boys were represented by Royce Neeley, Michael Colligan, Blake Lewis, Kyle Kelly and Stone Osborne.