NorthKey official honored for leadership

-A A +A

The Northern Kentucky Mental Health – Mental Retardation Regional Board is pleased to announce that the President and CEO of NorthKey Community Care had the privilege of being recognized by the University of the Cumberlands for Ethical Leadership and was presented an award by Dr. Charles Krauthammer and the University President, Dr. James Taylor.  
The award was presented as part of the Forcht Group of Kentucky Center for Excellence in Leadership program held at the O. Wayne Rollins Center on the campus of the University of the Cumberlands on April 9.
Nichols was presented the Ethical Leadership Award “for his drive for excellence to his community and nation and for serving as a role model to others by taking active steps to pursue noble goals and high ethical standards.”
Presenter Krauthammer, political commentator and psychiatrist, is a contributing editor to The Weekly Standard and The New Republic and a panelist on Inside Washington.
Krauthammer is a regular participant on Fox News as part of Special Report with Bret Baier.  As part of the awards ceremony he gave a talk on ethical leadership.  
In his role as the president and chief executive officer of NorthKey Community Care for the Northern Kentucky Mental Health – Mental Retardation Regional Board of Directors, which serves Boone, Campbell, Carroll, Gallatin, Grant, Kenton, Owen, and Pendleton counties, Nichols provides oversight and leadership to 17 community clinics delivering mental health, substance abuse, and intellectual and developmental disability services, a free-standing child and adolescent psychiatric hospital, and numerous residential and day-treatment programs.
Nichols also serves as president and board chair of the Kentucky Association of Regional Mental Health and Mental Retardation Programs, Inc., which represents the Community Mental Health Centers (CMHCs) throughout the Commonwealth of Kentucky, vice-chair of the Kentucky Board of Examiners in Psychology, and as a consultant surveyor in the Behavioral Health Care Accreditation Program with the Joint Commission.
Nichols is a Fellow in the American Academy of Clinical Psychology, Fellow in the Academy of Medical Psychology, and a Fellow of the American Psychological Association.  He served as the 2010 president and chair of the board of directors of the American Society for the Advancement of Pharmacotherapy. 
Nichols also holds the distinguished honor of serving on the advisory board of the Neuroscience Education Institute.